Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air
pollution, others think there are some other ways. Discuss both views and give your own
opinion.
It is a common belief that no-care days are a plausible solution to mitigate air pollution.
However, there is a more persuasive argument that there are more radical remedies to
preserve the atmosphere.
On the one hand, people who support days when cars are banned from circulating have
their own compelling rationales. To begin with, it is undoubted that private cars are a
proximate cause of contamination. Therefore, prohibiting cars will lower traffic density,
which is analogous to less greenhouse gas emissions into the atmosphere. Otherwise
stated, no-car days are an approach to directly combat choking air and deal with air
pollution.
On the other hand, there are also many measures to enhance the air quality. Government
is recommended to implement an odd-even rationing policy, in which cars are only
allowed to use on some specific days in a week depending on plate number. On the days
that their vehicles are banned, the owners are compelled to use public transportations.
This policy has the same impact as car-free days on reducing emissions. Besides,
fostering production and use of electric cars could be the most plausible method. Unlike
forbidding cars, this resolution not only comprises the convenience that cars bring to us
but also contributes to air quality.