Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time.

While several people these days, including me, support the idea that free time should be used for mental exercises including reading or solving riddles, there are numerous others found using these leisure time to ease their tension a much advantageous choice for each individual.

On the one hand, there is a variety of explanations for spending the recreational hours for analysing books or solving word puzzles in order to boost one's way of thinking. One fundamental benefit of these activities is that they offer people a unique opportunity to learn and to complete themselves. It does not seem unreasonable to suggest that knowledge accomplished from books is extremely valuable for people regardless of the segment of society they came from. Nevertheless, nowadays, the demanding work schedules and curriculum do not allow modern citizens to have times for reading or solving puzzles, thereby, taking advantage of the break for these habits is significantly essential. Another beneficial impact that is worth considering is that mind-improving activities may fulfil people with a sense of achievement. By the way of exemplifying, after finishing reading a whole book or successfully solving a difficult puzzle, people are usually immersed in the joy of victory as well as the satisfaction of broadening their horizons.

Notwithstanding, one can also claim that these valuable free time should be utilized with the purpose of resting the brain. The first and foremost explanation is that our nerve system tends to behave much more effectively after an appropriate resting period. Since the maximum concentrated ability of human beings is just around 20 minutes according to several scientific research, spending free time for relaxing and revitalizing should be the prerequisite so that they can utterly strive for work thereafter. Furthermore, there may some argument that mind-developing activities in free time are not efficient or even a waste of time and they overload the brains, which result in frequent headache and other relevant psychological illnesses.

In conclusion, although using free time for the relaxing purpose may boost work productivity thereafter, spending these time of mind-improving activities still have more useful since it fulfils people with the sense of achievement as well as a scarce chance to learn through books