Some people think that modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the fast-paced era, the use of sophisticated technology is increasing. To some people, it makes society closer to each other but some assume the opposite. There are some arguments of both views and my perspective which will be elaborated below.

The proponents of this argue that the use of the modern technology, social media, could scope and be connected to people around the world. Consequently, people who live in other countries could communicate with their families without limitation. A good illustration of this is that by using Instagram or facebook, the most used social media platforms, people could also be in contact with others even though their relatives live in other places to keep communication continuous. Another strong reason is that transportation development which is more and more advanced could possibly migrate people from one place to other places quickly by offering affordable price. This makes people able to meet their families without having long-time trip to turn up. For example, To keep their chemistry among family, people prefer using airplane as their main transport to visit their relatives in other cities or countries in short time because airplane companies sometimes offer promo ticket to attract the customers as well.

The opponents of this assume that the increasing use of social media makes people addicted and seldom perform interaction to others. This reduces people’s communication skill because they think having some conversation with others is not as interesting as being on social media. Thus, they often stay in their room and have less interaction with others. Moreover, the machine replacement in some industries could affect people’s interpersonal communication. According to this, people usually talking to others to find out some information should speak to a machine to answer people’s question. Taken as example, customer service no longer exists in some industries because people often ask the repetitive questions to answer their question so that company replaces it by using machine.

In conclusion, despite some appearing drawbacks, in my perspective, by using modern technologies -social media and transport- people could still be connected each other.