Some people think that in the modern world, getting old is entirely bad. Others, however, think that life of elderly in the modern world is much better than it was in the past. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this modern-day life, there is a topic of interest - getting old, which raises concerns to many people. Some people believe that becoming older has an adverse bearing on individuals; however, other ones cite that old people enjoy can have a better life than it was in the past. In this essay, I will explore both opinions before expressing my outlook.

On the one hand, there is a negative facet related to getting old - mass unemployment. The main reason is that the world has been changing and innovating gradually, and also scientists and researchers focus on technological development, especially they allot efforts to automation. They believe that automated machines and processes usher in an era of productivity, which lays a foundation for economic growth. Hence, robotics replaces employers who are senior manual laborers or old workforces to implement labor-intensive tasks, but the automation jeopardizes job security. For instance, most companies and factories, in place of owners will recruit workers to do manual works, they tend to utilize robotic technology to execute work commitments and optimize task productivity. However, high-tech gadget facilitates old people’s life considerably. The old can use robot cleaners and labor-saving machines to do some chores, it not only helps them to save time but also make elderly individuals’ lifetimes more stress-free.

Moreover, thanks to modern technological enhancement, senior people are accessible to familiarize themselves with new knowledge. Firstly, the proliferation of upgraded devices satisfies their entertainment and preference. Statistically speaking, most elderly citizens are inclined to enjoy beautiful sceneries. In the past, if they want to see these sightseeings, they will have to go to these places directly. It deprives the elderly inhabitants of much time. However, nowadays, senior citizens can see landscapes on the Internet and so on at the click of a button. They also can allot time to unwind themselves by watching TV programs. Secondly, older people can get new grasps related to science, policy, and the like. They have high-tech tools at their proposal, search necessary information they need through E-paper, internet-based news, and some videos. For example, if the old like cooking, they can search for some food recipes on media, let alone apply for online culinary courses effortlessly.

To conclude, the elderly people who live in the modern world get upsides vs. downsides. However, I believe that senior citizens have more benefits than disadvantages when they get older in this digital age.