Some people think that the most important function of music is to help people relax.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that music serves primarily as a means of relaxation while others think it is more than that. I am in agreement with the former as there are other purposes for music but they can all be roughly defined as ways of relaxing.

Those who feel music is more than just relaxation point out its other stated uses. For example, many people listen to music in more active settings, such as in night clubs, and dance along. In difficult emotional periods, including after a bad breakup or the loss of a loved one, some individuals turn to music to cope or lift up their spirits. There are also those who view music as an art form no different from literature, painting, and poetry. For them, music serves the myriad purposes of artistic appreciation that include offering insights into life and the artistic expression of others.

Nonetheless, the reasons detailed above can all be generally categorised as forms of relaxation and the most common purpose of music is unadorned enjoyment. People relax in different ways and that can include dancing, connecting with music emotionally or enjoying art. The majority of people, however, simply listen to music throughout the day as a way of escaping from the pressures and demands of work and family. Studies have shown that listening to music regularly can reduce blood pressure and ease the burdens that modern life places on mental health. This is the reason why workers, students, and parents gravitate towards music, in addition to other kinds of light entertainment, at the end of a long day and explains the enduring success of the industry.

In conclusion, music is mainly for relaxation, though this takes on different variations depending on the person in question. This desire to relax is part of a shared humanity that unites all peoples.