In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, we are living at the age of information and technology that knowledge is stored online. However, there are some negative facts about the online library in comparison to former ones, in my point of view, using online databases is reasonable.

Undoubtedly, today, people are getting easier access to sort of information on the internet so it turned into a gateway to mankind’s progress. The fact is that the significant advantage of online information, which known as its importance, is that everyone has access easily and cheaply to these resources with less possible time-consuming. Not only would people be knowledgeable in their specific ways but also the resources are always up to date. For example, mankind’s progress in science owes to online databases. It could be feasible to benefit the last outcomes of other’s scientific papers in order to continue their research process. Moreover, the advent of e-books raised needless of books and libraries in the form of physical, so that reduction in the use of paper meant less-harvesting woods then, an efficient trend to tackle global warming. Eventually, this is why are mankind is so thankful for this possibility.

Nonetheless, aside from all convenience of the internet and online libraries, there is some incontrovertible negative consequences. First of all, advertisers are onset to utilizing this ability and navigate consumers in a pleasant way and making money at the end. This trend could lead to making users internet-addicted which may end them into a sedentary lifestyle that is not healthy. Furthermore, everyone has the ability to upload information that means turning online databases into invalid ones in comparison to the past that people had to find an informed person patiently and eagerly. Finally, biologically, studies show that using a computer for a long time would rise some devastating impacts on human brain.

To sum up, the aforementioned remarks, despite some negative consequences which could be harnessed by taking a degree of control, online resources are fully beneficial for humans and without a little doubt can pace their progress.