Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and
large companies can make a difference.
To what extent do you agree or disagree?
There has been increasing debate globally regarding environmental protection. Some
people assert that only government officials and major companies can influence
environmental related decisions, since individual persons are powerless to make such
decisions. I agree with this viewpoint to a moderate extent.
Government bodies have the power to create and implement policies that can have
widespread influence on a community’s outcomes. For instance, the government in
Japan has imposed strict regulations to prevent overfishing to ensure preservation of
the marine environment. As a result, all Japanese fishermen are obligated to keep to
these rules. Similarly, big companies are also at the optimal position to influence
consumer choices as mass manufacturers of products. As an example, if they chose
to produce products that are environmentally friendly, such as using biodegradable
materials instead of plastic packaging, they can help to reduce waste at a mass level.
These examples illustrate the sphere of influence that government officials and large
companies have to improve our environment.
On the other hand, I feel that every individual is also is capable of making conscious
choice and taking steps to protect our environment. For example, if one chooses to
use recyclable bags instead of disposable plastic bags, he or she can help to save
over 100 plastic bags each year. People socialize often, and can influence others
actions through modelling positive and environmentally conscious behaviours. Even
though these actions may seem insignificant in the short term, the collective efforts
can have a huge influence in time to come.
In conclusion, I agree that the government and big companies exert strong influences
on our environment wellness through executing policies, as well as through the
manufacturing of environmentally friendly consumer products. However, I also
believe that individuals have the capacity to exert personal choices and potentially
influence their friends to protect the environment in the long-term trajectory.