Studies show that crime rates are lower among those with educational degrees. Therefore, the best way to reduce the crime rate is to educate criminals while they are still in prison.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Depressingly, these days crime has been turned into a serious preoccupation in many societies due to a variety of reasons. From along time ago, education has been a hallmark of a cultural person and the rate of criminal behaviour had seen barely in educated persons. From my vantage point, it makes sense to reduce crime by educating prisoners. By taking some measures this problem should be fixed.

For a long time, governments were tried to decrease the rate of crime by introducing punishments. The matter of fact is that jail can aggravate the situation in the case that which inmates have enough time to translate information, skills, and the crime that they had done before, or even supposed to commit new crimes with incarcerated individuals. So, not only has punishment never worked as a solution to tackle the rate of crime and reform inmates but also it has resulted in some backfire and worked against society seriously. Moreover, an individual after getting released from prison has to struggle with a lack of skill and ex-convict sentence. Finally, the vast majority of them would back to crime finally because it’s the only way to make ends meet.

Fortunately, problems can be fixed by taking into account measure of rehabilitation convicts. Prison is a golden opportunity to teach inmates variety practical skills like vocational training and any other tangible ones because they have plenty of free time in there and so it’s better to be entertained by some constructive activities. According to studies, underprivileged segments of society outcomes criminals in most cases. So, if prisons are facilitated to the feasibility of earning degrees, the prisoners, who are turned to crime due to poor living conditions, would never get back to illegal activities. Furthermore, if prisoners being well-educated in prison, they could be accepted by community, and having an ex-convict could not be a formidable obstacle in finding a regular job. Additionally, education procedure is good enough to get rid of both tension and boring conditions in the jail, and also it could act as a motivation. According to the aforementioned effects of education in prison, I fervently agree with introducing education.

In conclusion, to put everything in a nutshell, possibility of educating in prison could be resulted in marked reduction in rate of crime and significant positive impact on convicted felon while they are serving their sentences in prison. I would optimistic of this reform if governments take a constructive action in this way.