Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and
large companies can make a difference.
To what extent do you agree or disagree?
Problems such as the rising of global temperatures and health problems had a crucial
impact on the relationship with our everyday life, so that public institutions started
building awareness over their citizen, on how impactful would be a behavioral
change for the environment. For this main reason, in this essay I will discuss why I
disagree with the statement above.
To begin with, mankind cannot think Itself as autonomous from the environment
around, which means that our actions are tightly related to natural events. As a
matter of fact, a research conducted in areas subjected to earthquakes, such as Chile,
Hawai or Japan, noticed that the power of these calamities doubled since the
beginning of the 50’s, when governments gave permission to withdraw oil from the
soil. Yet, earth shakings would likely increase if members of parliament will keep on
permitting such exploitation on behalf of one country’s development.
But how can people prove their actions are still valuable to make a change in this
current situation? How can a change in our day-to-day life make a difference? The
last Day Zero in Mexico was an excellent example of it. In fact, in 2013 Mexico City
was about to run out of water, because of the massive drought of North America’s
water sources.As a consequence of overusing and wasting potable water, the issue
became a matter of millions of Mexicans. Accordingly, people started saving water, using it just when in need, so that it soon started flowing again, moreover avoiding
shortages.Eventually, the examples here provided proved how powerful individual’s actions are
over government policies, and how impactful these could be for the next generations.