Some people think the newly built houses should be the same as the old houses in local areas. Others argue that local authorities should allow people to build houses in their own styles. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that people have different views on building houses similar to the previous ones in neighborhoods. While the others have made the arguments that residents should create their own houses in uneven styles, I am of the opinion that houses can be constructed depending on their interests and characteristics.

On the one hand, there are several reasons to support the idea of house-building uniformity. Firstly, the aesthetic value of the residential areas is enhanced thanks to the homogeneity of house building. It will make the general views of local areas become more colorful and elegant. For example, there are numerous styles of housing including traditional style, Scandinavian style, modernist or standardised style. The architects could choose a style and apply for all houses in the local place based on the planning permission. Secondly, similar houses can be able to create an iconic area. This may become a good tourist attraction and help the locals to earn profits from tourism business.

Despite the above arguments, I maintain that housing construction following the owner’s personality can provide several benefits. Firstly, the freedom to choose the housing style can facilitate the creativity of people nowadays. They can make their house with many pleasing geometric forms or apply the art deco in their living house. Last but not least, the owner could design their house based on their budget and there is no pressure on the problem of building a house similar to their neighbors.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that it is better to create a house relying on our budget and interest.