Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old

houses in the local areas, while others think that people should have freedom to

build houses of their own styles. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, concerns about the style of new constructions has been a topic of debate in many parts of the world, while some people argue that everyone should be free to

choose their own style of house, I still hold the view that new houses should be constructed in the same architectural style with the existing ones.

On the one hand, there are some who argue that it is essential to welcome change and

every individual should be entitled to have the right to live in a modern style of house, if they so wish, irrespective of the locality. Because it is obvious a basic right of human, not a privilege, to quench their thirst for new trend of accommodation around the world. Especially, such house is where they probably attach to in their entire life, which means that they are more likely to construct it as much modern as they can to enjoy a higher living conditions. This, it might hard to achieve by obeying old style.

On the other hand, there are strong arguments that new houses should abide by the existing architectural style of a local area. In terms of the tangible cultural heritage of a small town or village, traditional houses which have historical significance not only give a strong sense of identity to the locality but also provide a link to our roots, while a modern counterpart is certain to be incompatible with historical connections. From an architectural perspective, modern houses alongside traditional dwellings are an eyesore which means that they might fail to blend in with the housing which has grown organically, perhaps during centuries.

To recapitulate, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that it is

better to keep new houses in accordance with the original ones.