Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old

houses in the local areas, while others think that people should have freedom to

build houses of their own styles. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While someone believes that modern buildings should inherit the format of traditional houses, others state that people should construct houses in their freestyle. In my opinion, I agree with the second statement.

On the one hand, the newly built houses will cost the fortune for the construction if it follows the characters of the old ones. Firstly, it is hard to find the rare and expensive materials, nowadays such as porcelain, pottery, wood which are used to construct traditional buildings. Therefore, people have to pay not only a lot of money but also the amount of time to decorate the houses in the old style. Secondly, the maintenance fee of houses which are constructed in the traditional way also higher than their modern counterparts. For example, precious woods and rare pottery are extremely difficult to preserve because of the moister atmosphere and oxidation of the environment.

On the other hand, if people have freedom for constructing the building in freestyle, they will innovate the modern architectures. In the term of aesthetic, there will be more and more splendid and gorgeous houses appear soon. Marina Bay Sands, for instance, which is functioned as a hotel, casino, and shopping mall, is not only the world's conference but also the iconic building of Singapore. Besides, on the economical side, modern buildings can be built in a shorter time and lesser costs because people use alternative materials such as artificial sand and mortar or 3D spray paint.

In conclusion, although newly building could follow the architecture of the classic houses, in my viewpoint, I strongly agree that everyone should have the freedom to construct the houses in their own format.