Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old

houses in the local areas, while others think that people should have freedom to

build houses of their own styles. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

It is argued that the style of traditional houses should be adopted on new houses in the local areas; however, others believe that it is free for everyone to select their own style of the house. I agree with the view that new houses should be constructed with the same traditional structure as others in the area.

On the one hand, there are some benefits for citizens when building a new house with their own style. First of all, individuals will have a structure as they want in their home. By designing their own style, they can arrange the furniture and decorate each room to make them satisfied and happy when coming home. Moreover, in term of economic of scale, people can reduce the high cost of materials they need to pay when following modern construction. For example, tradition construction material like wood is nowadays replaced by aluminum or plastic with lower price.

On the other hand, there are arguments that a new house should follow the existing constructions in the area. Firstly, the traditional houses have the intangible cultural heritage of a town or village which is needed to be spread. By building the houses that keep a similar style, it helps people to aware of their roots. Secondly, the new houses which are built by real estate developers might be incompatible with the historical buildings. As a result, the mixing of modern architectural styles will create an eyesore for everyone.

In conclusion, although the traditional houses might be costly, it should be respected by modern housing developments