Some people think that news have no connection to people's life, so then it is a waste of time to read the news in newspaper and watch TV news

While some people argue that news has no relevance to their everyday life, I still believe that receiving information from news media or television still brings a host of benefits to our society.

On the one hand, there are grounds for arguing that following news on TVs or magazines is nothing but waste of time and unrealistic.To begin with, the public is being bombarded by the proliferation of news sources which has little contributory value for their lives. For example, the daily repetitions of reports on gossips and rumors of celebrities, whom we have no common ground to share, makes us become more indifferent or even annoyed. Furthermore, the subliminal messages that the reports want to delivery can be sometimes misunderstood and cause serious consequences for public, especially, for the youngsters. This is now evidenced by the fact that the images of super-thin celebrities in the media have a bad effect on both the perspective and well being of adolescents. Considering being pretty and thin to be the most important thing, teenage girls are the susceptible group most likely to suffer ill-effects from eating disorders.

On the other hand, staying up to date with news still has many advantages. Firstly, reading newspapers and watching TVs are an ideal method to broaden our horizon owing to their diversity of the topics and instantaneous update. News sources not only cover academic fields but also many daily life events happening all around the world, which allows news followers to enrich their both specialist and social knowledge. For instance, without reading or seeing the news, global citizens would never know how devastating an impact Ebola virus disease had in Africa to have a timely precaution. Secondly, TVs and newspapers have been long regarded as a tool of creation and relaxing. Entertainment coverage will keep you informed of all the latest information on your favourite movies or music bands.

In conclusion, although there are both disadvantages and advantages in reading news, I have to reaffirm that acquiring news plays a vital role in people's lives. However, we need to receive it in a sensible and selective way.