Some people think that the news media has become much more influential in people’s lives today and it is a negative development. Do you agree or disagree?

Journalism is thought to be the negative influence on people’s daily life. I agree with this view, however; I believe that news media also brings positive benefits to people in the modern life. I will give my viewpoints in my essay below.

Although media and communication has the certain influence on the daily life of people, not all of them are positive affects. Actually, the news in the online newspapers is not always true and the journalists usually use headline titles with the unconfirmed information to attract readers. For instance, the scandal of celebrities always be the first news which makes people be curious and click on the link on the news site. Despite the fact that the hot news about famous people is the smart strategy of journalists to get the higher views from readers, some of them are fabricated and misleading the public opinion. That deviation has the enormous impact on the daily life, reputation and career of the key opinion leaders.

On the other hand, journalism also brings beneficial effects on people. It is undeniable that by reading news on newspaper, people can update fastly the breaking news about the world around. One clear example is the news regarding to corona virus and its spread in the community. Due to the significant of problems and the public interest, both traditional journalism and online newspapers have reported regularly about the number of people infected and notable areas in the pandemic map. Therefore, people can update information and prepare the appropriate method to minimize the risks of diseases.

To sum up, although some people think that the influence of news media on people's life is the negative development, I personally believe that it is still the useful tool for people to keep up to the date with the current affairs.