Some people think that the news media has become much more influential in people’s lives today and it is a negative development. Do you agree or disagree?

The news media has much more influence on people’s lives these days. It is appreciated that this is a detrimental phenomenon. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this opinion and this essay would pen down valid support for my verdict.

Initially, I hold a strong belief that the proliferation of news has exerted a positive impact on people’s choices by helping them make wiser and more thoughtful decisions. Thanks to the democratization of news media, readers can receive news on a daily basis and seek out information from various sources. Consequently, vital references can be easily found and utilized. For example, people are now making more and more conscious votes in elections. This is derived from the fact that politicians often express their perspectives through mass media, which is accessible to most citizens. By contrast, if news media was still in its infancy, individuals would have little choice but to rely on traditional sources of information, such as paper materials being outdated years ago.

Moreover, I opine that the plethora of news encourages people to strengthen their critical thinking to become more cultivated readers. However irritating unavoidable misinformation is, it necessitates all readers to reinforce their verification and judgement ability. According to recent research by the Ministry of Education and Training in Vietnam, approximately 87% of high school students know how to double-check the information before sharing news with others as a result of intensive exposure to various news sources, including both fake and authentic news. Another constructive outcome is that a major percentage of them actively and selectively seek out news from reputable news sources.

In conclusion, as for the aforementioned explanations, I concur that the profound impact of news on people’s lives is advantageous in terms of contributing to making thoughtful decisions and honing leadership skills.