Some people think that not all criminals should be kept in prison. Some criminals should be do unpaid work to help other people in the community. Does u agree or disagree?

There is an opinion about wheter some of lawbreakers should not be sent to the jailhouse when they commit crime. I agree that in some cases, prison may not be the best solution and community service would probably have more benefits.

The reason why I agree with the opinion about put the lawbreakers in jailhouse is one justification given for prisons is to keep society safe by removing criminals from the outside world. so the first thing to consider is if the lawbreakers are toxic and dangerous for people. For example in the case of violent crime, sexual crime, bullying which give direct effect to the victims lawbreakers should be keep in jailhouse.

On the other hand, in case of possession drugs for example which does not involve violence against other people so the lawbreakers does not present a direct danger to people. keeping this types of crime in jailhouse is too expensive and does not appear to be an effective punishment as they often commit the same crime again when they come out of prison. A further reason not to put these people in prison is that they may mix with more dangerous and violent criminals, potentially committing a worse crime when they are released. By keeping them in the community, helping others, they not only learn new skills, but they could also develop more empathy and care towards others. if this occurs, society can only benefit.

To sum up, putting criminals who are not a danger to society in prison is expensive and, in my opinion, ineffective, both as a deterrent and as a form of rehabilitation.