Some people think that older school children should learn a wide range of subjects and develop knowledge. Others , however, think that they should only learn a small number of subjects in detail.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The advanced technology nowadays allows students a better chance to absorb new ideas , therefore , some people hold the view that students should take advantage of the new era and extend their learning. In comparison , there are still some people thinking narrowing down learning scope should be the right way for students to learn.

The former group reckons that a wide range of subjects would help students to know more about the world from different perspectives , which will definitely shape them to be more conclusive and open-minded. Subjects in various fields focus on different themes. Broadly speaking , liberal arts are more about literature, history , arts and so on while science deals with the knowledge about math , physics and astronomy. Some students who are limited to learn one field would be quite ignorant about the other . Therefore , they would judge things from their most familiar angle and not understandable about others. Learning from a wider field should help them to be more open-minded.

However, those who think students emphasis on small number of subjects in detailed way hold that this way allows students to drill on one field in depth and be proficient in that field. This saying also makes sense in the way that students spend their limited time on a few fields and practice more would surely take in more knowledge .This helps to shape them to be talented in one field.

Personally , I think children are not mature enough to know where their true passions are and where their true passions would lead them to. In the case , it is better for adults provide them with more choices by learning thing from a wider perspective instead of making their decision to focus on one field . By doing this ,children might make sensible decision for themselves .