Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, environmental degradation has become alarming all over the world. Whether the cost of fuel for transportation should be raised to solve this issue is a debatable topic. For me, there are other more workable solutions.

It is obvious that increasing the fuel price can have negative impacts on society as the gap between the rich and the poor may be loosened. This is because it seems that only wealthy people could afford the accelerating price and the others with low income may suffer from financial pressure. In fact, the average salary of a graduate is about 5 million VND, if the price of petrol increases by 1000 VND/litter, he has to allocate nearly 1 million VND each month just for commuting demand.

Environment-related problems could be addressed effectively by other methods. First, the government should reach international collaboration on limiting exhaust fume from industrial activities. As it is the main culprit of Greenhouse Effect, the primary cause of Global warming which is threatening the habitat of endangered species. Another crucial measure worth mentioning is to raise the public awareness as each individual could put effort to prevent bad impacts on the mother land. For example, the Earth hour has achieved huge success all over the world, which attracted millions of young people together protecting the green of the Earth, simply by switching off all electricity devices for one hour.

It is also true that higher price of fuel may encourage people to travel by public transportation rather than their private vehicles. However, its disadvantages are more significant.

In conclusion, it is my belief that dealing with environmental degradation consists of both governmental and individual efforts.