Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?
<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">Environmental degradation is one of the most alarming issues that we are facing. While some
people agree that the most feasible measure to deal with this problem is to raise the price of
fuel, I think it is an effective solution, but far from being the best.
On the one hand, it is undeniable that the higher cost of fuel will exert many constructive
influences on dealing with environmental contamination. The higher gas, petrol and oil price
is, the fewer people burn for commuting demand. For this reason, CO2 emissions will decline
dramatically, diminishing CO2 footprint. Furthermore, this money can be invested in
reducing the quantity of pollutants released into the air. For example, the government will have
more funding for research projects to find out eco-friendly energy sources or upgrade
a pollutant treating system, so the environment can be protected.
On the other hand, this solution, albeit protective and preventive, is not the most effective
way to address contamination. The major reason is that this policy can solve air pollution
without any influences on other culprits also damaging environments such as intensive
farming, overpopulation or the illegal disposal of waste from factories. Therefore, the
implementation of the higher cost of fuel can only reduce the acceleration of contamination
insignificantly. Instead, each individual needs to live a greener and kinder life to the
environment by classifying waste, using eco-friendly energy or simply walking more.
The government should hold programs to raise people’s awareness of the consequences of their
actions on the surrounding environment and their future life so that they will take responsibility
for their own actions.