Some people think that organizing international sport events is good for the host country while others think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

The popularity of the Olympic games is all over the place in this day and age. Along with this, there is a heated debate about whether the disadvantages of hosting such a global competitions would overshadow the merits that it could bring to the host country and vice versa. From my personal standpoint, both views bear their own reasons.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that holding worldwide sport competitions might bring a wealth of benefits to the host nations. First of all, it is the country’s once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to promote their indigenous culture and custom on a global scale on the ground that people from all over the world will not only spare time following their favourite athletes but also peruse the host’s specialities. Secondly, if the event is operated without let or hindrance, the host country’s international reputation can be improved considerably. As a consequence, this would have positive influence on the tourism sector since it would intrigue people’s curiosity to further discover about the nation. Brazil is the prime example of this, after organizing the Olympic Games 2016 in Rio De Janeiro, its tourist industry has gone through an unforgettable period of continuous growth and prosperity.

On the other hand, in spite of such alluring benefits, there are also significant drawbacks that the host country should take into consideration. On top of that, it is the financial demand of these events that might lead the host nation to the verge of crisis. We should all be acknowledged that the cost of hosting a sport events is prohibitively expensive, the country has to carefully manage the stream of money so as to satisfied internal and external activities at the same time. In the case of Greece, not only the country ran into bad debt after hosting the Olympic games in 2004 but it also lost most of the citizen’s trust into the existed government at that moment. This problem can be further exaggerated in some developing nations with limited financial resources, where outsized spending could result in accusations of misspending and corruption.

In a nutshell, it is my opinion that there are both negative and positive aspects of hosting a global sport competitions and the organizer itself should make their own decision due to the aforementioned pros and cons