Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society Others however believe that school is the place to learn this Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is thought by some that it is the responsibility of parents to show their offspring how an

honest member of society is to behave, while others feel that this should happen at

school. This essay believes that although parents can encourage this type of behaviour

from an early age, a school is better because it can reach every child.

Parents have access to their children from birth, and, in these formative years, children

can easily be taught to understand the need to obey rules and respect others. Young

children assimilate concepts easily; therefore, the onus should be on parents to make

sure that this happens. For example, in my country, it can be observed that the majority

of children whose parents are good, law-abiding citizens also grow up to become

positive members of society. This essay, however, believes that this will only affect

children whose parents have high moral standards.

Schools, on the other hand, can implement an ethics syllabus to be studied by every

child. Regardless of a student’s background, each one of them must attend the same

lessons, meaning they will all see how they are expected to behave and what role they

should play in their world. For instance, Ireland has seen a downward trend in the

number of young offenders since introducing ethics classes 16 years ago. This essay,

therefore, argues that, because of the consistency found in education, school is the best

place for learning social values.

In conclusion, for children to become upstanding members of society, although they can

benefit from the early exposure of parental guidance, this essay believes that the

objective teachings in school are more valuable as they are accessible to every child.