Some people think that people should be given the right to use fresh water as they like. Others believe governments should strictly control the use of fresh water. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Water consumption is indeed a controversy for its importance in daily lives. Whereas one school of thought holds the view that the general public should be given to accessing fresh water sources without restrictions, others state that it is the responsibility of government agencies to monitor its use. Personally, I contend that water should be used under the regulation of the state to ensure its quality.

For one thing, the option to provide the masses with unlimited access to fresh water supply could be justified to some extent. The chief explanation is that this form of permission allows people in impoverished areas to lead a healthier life. There is a stark reality in many countries that the disadvantaged are often derelicted with regards to fundamental requirements such as poor living conditions, heavy exposure to polluted environments. Therefore, a minor improvement in water quality could fervently alleviate their situation, especially in terms of health illnesses that primarily stem from detrimental particles in contaminated water. Since this one aspect is effectively addressed, it can accompany betterment in poverty, which is beneficial to this social class.

For another, states should thoroughly regulate this natural resource since excessive consumption poses an existential threat to the purity of water. Water in many regions is now exploited in frenzy for industrial activities, but in the meantime, the deposit is usually directly discharged to its origin such as reservoirs and rivers without undergoing any filter processing. This pollutant factor takes a heavy toll on the local’s health whose household water consumption is pumped from the contaminated sources. On this grounds, legislations and policies should be enacted simultaneously to ensure public health and thus, enhance law-abiding awareness for companies to operate in tandem with not wreaking havoc on the environment.

To conclude, notwithstanding the equal water accessibility for individuals of all classes, I believe the official intervention of states is imperative to govern its use as well as secure the quality of such an invaluable natural resource.