Task 2: Some people think that people should be given the right to use fresh water as they like. Others believe governments should strictly control the use of fresh water. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Fresh water sources are becoming scarer and scarer. A number of people say that this valuable resource should be left for politicians to be well-controlled and regulated. In contrast, some say it is citizen’s rights to have complete access. This following essay will discuss both aspects of the situation.

Making fresh water fully accessible for people might have more negative impacts on their livelihood later on. Firstly, this will make the water vulnerable to contaminants since local could easily discard many types of wastes coming from their daily activities directly into the water. A visible example for this is the sight of Sai Gon river in Ho Chi Minh City, because of authorities’ neglection, locals who reside on the banks now discharging the river with their sewage and garbage in bunk daily. Secondly, drinkers will not be able to tell the quality of the water they are consuming into their body. Without any expert confirmations on the safety of water sources, contaminated water will be drunken by people in a large-scale, hence spreading several kinds of dangerous diseases. For instance, a small village in India has registered an outbreak of an illness which started with a type of bacteria living in their regular water dispenser.

Given human recourses and legal influence, governments could tackle these mentioned problems with ease. First of all, environmental bills can be passed and implemented to prevent the water from being polluted and strictly punish violating cases. This will prohibit any actions that maybe harmful to water sources. Such as in many cities in Europe, any actions of causing pollution, especially water pollution are harshly banned from society. In addition, health care experts might be sent to every area to evaluate the water source of dwellers.

In conclusion, endangered precious resources like water should be handled by entitled figures for the reason that they have more profound knowledge and power compared to the masses.