In many nations, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, instead of in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In many large cities worldwide, people prefer living alone or in a small family instead of living in extended family households. This problem has two sides, and I will discuss both views of this opinion above.

On the one hand, this trend has some positive aspects. First, many young people do not like to live in traditional lifestyles. Living in a nuclear family, teenagers can do anything they feel comfortable with, which gives them the freedom to do as they please. In addition, many older people can not follow the hectic, fast-paced lifestyle. During their retirement, they prefer living a healthier and slower-paced lifestyle.

On the other hand, this trend also has some negative aspects. When older people live alone, they will have some problems with mental and physical health. They do not have acquaintances who live with them and can lack the care or attention they need. Besides that, when living with grandparents, young people will not have interaction and influence. Some grandparents will give them a vital life person or valuable life experience. They can apply it to their study or work to do something better and better. As the same with grandparents, children who live in nuclear families will not have parental control and parental care. Parents have to balance family tasks and work, and if they are too busy, their children can be affected in the future.

Recent years have witnessed a shift from an extended family to a small family. Although this opinion has two sides, people should choose carefully when living in a large or small family.