Modern technology is changing our world. It has advantages such as bringing people closer together through communication; it also has disadvantages such as destroying the differences between cultures. To what extend do you agree or disagree this statement?

Modern technology has undeniably contributed to society's development. Improvement will change our world in a positive direction if people can master it effectively. In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of new technology.

It is understandable that modern instruments have more benefits than disadvantages for people. They are used for work, study, research and communication. In industry, for instance, factories apply modern techniques to the manufacturing process. Consequently, high-quality products are made more quickly than those made by hand. Using new technologies in production leads to higher profits for owners. Similarly, students do not have to search through reference booklets in bookstores or libraries to find information about their majors; instead, it is available at the touch of a button. Communication is also the most common use of the latest technology. It makes our world smaller. People can communicate from a long distance. In the past, people kept in touch through handwritten letters. It took a few days or weeks to get it. Now, only a cell phone or other modern equipment such as a laptop or computer can be used to have a fast and convenient conversation.

However, besides the advantages mentioned above, high-tech appliances also come with disadvantages. The use of technology causes a lack of interpersonal communication. People do not spend much time with each other. The young generation, for example, uses their cell phones to make "friends". These scenes can be seen elsewhere in public areas. Also, instead of visiting somewhere in reality to gain a broader perspective, people wander on Websites instead. In addition, some Web pages are not suitable for teenagers because of inaccurate information.

In conclusion, the advantages of modern technology outweigh its disadvantages. Those belong to users’ purposes and ways of using. It would be more convenient and effective if high technology were used to accomplish essential tasks.