In many countries, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, instead of in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Young people in big cities, instead of living in extended families, has trend not to get married or live in small ones. This probably brings them pleasure and freedom. In my opinion, being in families with many generations outweigh living alone or in small ones.

On the one hand, there are many advantages to live in large family with beloved people. Living in a big family can enhance family tradition which makes family members close to each other. Otherwise, having an elderly in family, they bring a wealth of life experience and wisdom, which can be valuable to young people. Another benefit is that living condition will be better due to income from all members in family. It is convenient that children who are not old enough to get to school will be taken care of carefully by other family members when their parents go for work.

On the other hand, living alone or in family with two generations make them pleasant and feel free. They will get no pressure of looking after the elderly in the family. It means that they have more time for their job and for themselves.Enjoying relaxing after coming home from work will help them recover energy, meanwhile it seems more difficult for people living in extended ones.

In conclusion, to live alone or in small family units brings people many advantages. For me, it is more convenient for people to live in large, extended family groups because of its value of family.