Some people think that people should be given the right to use fresh water as they like. Others believe governments should strictly control the use of fresh water. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While a plethora of people believe that they should have opportunities to consume fresh water as much as they like, others argue that governments should prohibit people from using the amount of fresh water without restraint. This essay will elaborate on both perspectives of the debate and explain why I am convinced of the former viewpoint.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why the governments should take control of the use of freshwater. The first reason is preventing people from being a bad citizen. Naturally, when people have a chance to do things of their own volitions, some people may become selfish and abusive. Thus, the government should restrict not only to control the country’s water but also to help the residents become good people. The second reason is balancing the amount of water between each citizen. Nowadays, it can be seen that the society is mostly divided into three different classes, the upper, the working and the middle. If the use of freshwater is not strictly controlled, the upper class may use up to a large amount of water and the working may not be ale to get any as they are not able to afford.

On the other hand, there are a number of things which indicate that using fresh water freely is reasonable. Firstly, people are likely to use a suitable amount of fresh water to support their whole families. Take extended families as an example. As extended families include many generations, they are bound to have a large usage of water for activities like bathing, drinking, cooking, and so on. The more people in a home, the more water is consumed. Secondly, if people have the ability to consume water unrestrictedly, they may learn how to save money. As people have to pay for the water bill monthly or gradually, they are likely to know how to control their water usage in order to save the money for other expenses. As a result, this not only creates chances for people to use more water for their daily activities but also hits the books of how to spend money.

In conclusion, although there are reasons why people should be able to use freshwater as they like, by providing opportunities for people to use fresh water freely, they are able to support their families and learn how to spend money.