Some people think that robots are very important to human‘s future development, while others think they are dangerous and have negative effects on society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Robots are artificially created intelligent electro-mechanical devices. They are designed by human beings to assist in performing some activities that are considered tiresome and boring and at times risky. Some individuals opine that these robots would be pivotal in the future development of mankind. However, others are skeptical and fear that these robots will have negative effects on society. In the following paragraphs, I intend to discuss both views.

To begin with, robots speed up the production process and are very good in repetitive tasks. For example, it is a well known fact that the leading products made in the developed countries like Japan are made by the help of intelligent machines or robots. What is more, robots can be operated 24 hours per a day which can also raise the productivity of the companies. Secondly, in the field of medicine, robots have been used to do complicated surgeries. For instance, in robotic eye surgery there are no tremors in the hands of robots and therefore the scope of serious errors is much reduced with the help of robots.

Robots can also work in extreme conditions where humans are helpless. For example, robots helped a great deal in the rescue operations due to the tsunami and were used in nuclear environments to close the reactors of Fukushima. Robots will change the way we live in many ways by lifting more and more tasks off our shoulders. Robots can help us to do household duties like cleaning our house or washing dishes. This way, we have more time to do useful work, or spend the time with family or friends. Robot toys can play with children and help them in their development. Home security can be done by a robot, which can keep his attention up constantly and look out for unfamiliar situations like a fire or burglar.

However, there are some who think that robots may negatively affect people‘s life and also be extremely dangerous. There could be increase of unemployment in the future. It is expected that robots could replace many people at their working place. One of evidence for this is that few robots have already started to teach children at schools, others have been working as servants for several families. And it is clear, that some employers will choose cheap robots instead of humans, as they would work round the clock and also not take sick leave or coffee break.

In the near future, robots will join in our lives in various ways, and play a role of growing importance. Robots will make our lives easier and increase our general living comfort. We have created the robots and we should know where to draw the line in their use so that we get the best out of them minus their disadvantages.