In recent years, robot technology has been receiving a great deal of public attention. While some people are of opinion that it comes with tremendous positive impacts, others argue that it is harmful to human beings. I will discuss both sides of the argument and explain my support for the latter view.

On the one hand, due to the major progress made in programming as well as the technological advances in engineering, robotic systems can increasingly take over the repetitive work and dangerous jobs for humans. To illustrate that, robots are now participating in packing parcels and cleaning radioactive waste. Moreover, robots are not only cheap alternative labor but also more productive with no breaks, which makes them suitable for boring jobs in the industrial factory. As a result, it creates more free time for people to spend doing what they want, which improves their life quality.

On the other hand, becoming dependent on robots has some negative impacts on people. By letting robots doing all the household chores, people might lose essential skills such as cooking, gardening. As a consequence, people become lazy and it affects their health substantially. In addition, due to the adoption of various types of robots, there are thousands of workers are being laid off, which raises the unemployment rate dramatically. This leads to bigger problems such as poverty, crime, etc...which becomes heavy pressure for society.

In conclusion, although robots can make people's life easier in different ways, this convenience comes with bad consequences. Personally, I think people should limit the use of robots and maintain their essential skill sets.