Some people think that schools have to be more entertaining, while others think that their sole purpose is to educate.

Which do you agree with?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Over the past decades, parts of the conventional teaching has translated into an interaction comprising of entertaining elements in some schools. Alongside this changing pattern in academic domain, the latest sociological discoveries have casted light on the effectiveness and necessities on deploying enjoyable activities in schools. The aim of this essay is set to contend that school should be more entertaining by exploring these benefits to school with supports underpinned by these academic work.

To begin with, school with entertaining curriculum is widely perceived as an distinctive institution. What this means is the practical experience of these entertaining activities, to considerable extent, could intensify the memory of its students. For instance, recent empirical research from the Language of Children Committee ascertained that junior learners who constantly participate in drama invariably outperform their counterparts studying in conventional school in language acquisition. Consistent with this line of thinking, learning centres that integrate its lessons with some entertainment could foster the learning process of its fellow learners in certain disciplines.

Meanwhile, another pivotal benefit for educational institutions to incorporate some entertaining activities in their routine is to reduce the cost for sustaining students’ mental health. This is because these relaxing participations are likely to present an opportunity for students to unwind the strain mainly originated from homework and examinations. In fact, after being interviewed by the Hong Kong University, 70% students admitted that they felt more depressed and stressful prior to taking part in extra-curriculum activities. Seen in this light, these entertainment could constitute a mitigation measure for the academic strain given by the vigorous lifestyle of a typical students.

In conclusion, there is ample evidence suggested that entertaining schools are likely to be more beneficial regarding the reinforced efficiency on cultivation and crucial significance on alleviating academic pressure. Given the strength of this evidence, it is predicted that more educational institutions will contemplate their curriculum in a more entertaining approach after a thorough assessment.