Some people think scientific research should focus on solving world health problems. Others think that there are more important issues. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether scientists should focus on addressing health issues or other crucial problems has been a topic of discussion among the public. Each view has its own merits which will be elaborated below.

On the one hand, growing numbers of research upon personal and public health have many benefits. The first advantage is that they link directly to existence of humankind. Without proper studies conducted in health sector, epidemics and diseases would wipe out human beings on earth. For instance, Covid 19 has taken the lives of million people, otherwise vaccines were not created, the pandemic's impacts on the world could be more servere. The second merit is that increasing researches on human's health would subsequently result in better healthcare for the public, people are therefore provided with better medicines and treatments. Finally, with breakthoughs made in the health industry, people tend to have extended life expectency and old citizens are taken care better, which imply that individuals can work until their old age. It means that the general economy is beneficial. Thus, given improvement in the public health people may feel a sense of security and are able to contribute more to their society.

On the other hand, there are also urgent problems should be given attention from scientists. First, climate change is posing a great threat on lives of millions of people globally. Erosion, drought, flood and so forth not only destroy the livelihood of people but place many people's lives at risk. In addition, fast expansion of urbanization and industrialization deteriorate the nature which is the main culprit of disappearance of rare animals as well as flora and fauna. More importantly, there is a growing concern that the increasing population exerts a burden on the existing infrastructure and facilities which underscores the need for constantly expansing of human's accommodations. That is why scientific researches should cover a wide range of subjects to guarantee the development of the world as a whole.

In sum, even though the health is important, other issues also demand focus of the science community. I believe that both ideas are of equal importance and researchers should manage to meet the needs of both.