Some people think that sending criminals to prison is not effective. Education and job training should be used instead. Do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, the criminal problems have always been a hot topic and left several controversial ideas in the public about how to tackle them. While some people believe in the effectiveness of the prisons, others argue that educating and training the felons are better cures. From my point of view, although the latter is, to some extent, justifiable, I am of the opinion that imprisonment does a better job.

The first thing to notice is that when criminals are sentenced to several years, the safety of the public can be better assured. Although some people are convinced that schooling makes the felons go to the right track, not many of them can actually feel remorse from those lessons but instead, they will use that chance to reoffend. As a result, the peace of the society can be on the verge and the crimes will keep relapsing. Only when the convicts are kept in these four-walls buildings can they become under surveillance and take the punishment.

Moreover, it is not only about better assurance of the prisons to people's safety that I believe imprisonment is more effective but the sentence can speak up as an example of rights ramifications and justice as well. For example, if would-be criminals notice that they are going to be prosecuted and convicted for their crimes, they will be less likely to commit offences with the fear of being deprived of freedom. The chance of getting proper livelihood training or education just leaves another road for those delinquents to reoffend. Furthermore, grave criminals including murderers or assaulters should get permanent imprisonment or even death penalty so that the victims can feel the fairness and justice.

In conclusion, while taking the felons to school and the labour market is another possible solution to the criminals problems, I am convinced that imprisonment is more constructive as it ascertains the public's safety, shows the justice and mirrors the consequences that the convicts deserve.