Some people think that sport teaches children how to compete, while others believe that children learn teamwork.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In many countries, the level of argument about what sport teaches children has been increasing dramatically, especially during the last few decades while some people claim that sport teaches children how to compete, others believe that sport teaches children teamwork. From my point of view, I agree with both ideas since sport brings lots of advantages including having a competitive edge and gaining teamwork skills.

In terms of the idea that sport teaches children to compete, I totally agree for these two following reasons. Firstly, having a competitive edge helps children to get their achievements. When children play sports, they automatically have a desire to be on the top of the scoreboard by which they’ll learn to understand their strengths and take advantage of them to play fairly and properly. As a result, they dare to push their body’s physical limit to gain what they want. Secondly, having a competitive edge helps to overcome negative emotions of losing. Being competitive helps children to find out their weaknesses and strengthen them up to eliminate any chances of losing games. That’s how they conquer their fear of losing. When children lose in their games, they’ll learn to deal with stress and handle negative feelings well. In short, learning to compete in sports helps children to be ready to force the competition which not only comes from sports but also life.

In terms of the idea that sport teaches children teamwork, I agree for these two following reasons. The first reason worth mentioning is that children need teamwork skills to take part in most of the sports. For example, playing football, volleyball, and basketball all need teamwork skills to participate in. They’ll learn to cooperate as well as collaborate to get achievements not only for their own but also for their team. The second reason that shouldn’t be ignored is that children need teamwork skills to win matches. They should understand their teammates and they should also have their teammates’ faith to play properly as well as efficiently. Briefly, learning teamwork helps children to get used to a new environment in both sport and life with ease.

In conclusion, from all the above, it’s undeniable that both being competitive and learning teamwork are encouraged children when they come to the sport. It’s my firm belief that children should play sports regularly because of these two advantages and many others that are not mentioned.