Some people think sports are important for society, while others believe they should be taken as leisure activities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sports are thought to be crucial for society, however, some people think that they should be played for relaxing. I will discuss both of these views in the essay below.

On the one hand, sports play the principal roles in the development of countries. Actually, sports are not only physical but also the culture activities helping improve the relationship between the nations in regions. One clear example is Seagame which is the well-known sport event in Vietnam and South East Asia to enhance the sportmanship and interacts with neighbor countries. It is the competitions between athletes from some countries such as Indonesia, Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia. In addition, there are numerous campaigns established in order to encourage people playing sports to have healthy bodies and avoid illness.

In contrast, some people think that sports are only activities which they play in their freetime for having fun. It is true that sports have various beneficial effects on people’s daily life and leisuring is one of those. For instance, many companies organize the annual sport competitions like running or playing badminton as the team building activities for their employees to reduce anxiety after hard working and enhance the teamwork spirit. One more example regarding the leisure purposes of sports is the encouragement from the parents to their children to play some outdoor activities like playing basketball for being open-minded people.

To sum up, although some people think that sports are just leisure activities, I personally believe that they also have many positive impacts on society.