Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views regarding the legislation of road traffic about whether severe punishments or other methods have a noticeable implication in the accident rates. In my opinion, the former would be justified; however, the latter sounds more convincing.

On the one hand, It is evident that the implementation of strict punishment such as fees and probation actually affects driver’s awareness. To be specific, penalties act as a deterrent for reoffending, which in turn prevents drivers from repeating the unlawful act. Moreover, harsh punishments gain social endorsement in terms of controlling juvenile crimes. For example, those who disregard the law can have a life lesson if they are condemned.

On the other hand, there are other measures that can be adapted apart from strict punishment, which avoids crime motivation by dealing with the insight cause. One of them is improving the education standard, by that I mean, to cover students with adequate traffic theoretical knowledge and practical skills. Subsequently, governments or local councils could reduce road accidents by investing in better public transport like bus and train in case of driving incapability in drunks.

In conclusion, although strict punishments play a vital role in the criminal driving rates, those solutions analyzed above will eliminate all elements that include a person committing a crime. These methods are more comprehensive than the previous idea and are predicted to solve the problem thoroughly in the foreseeable future.