Many people believe that life has become intolerable due to the development of technology. However, I am convinced that the opposite is true, and the complexity of life originates from different sources, not technology.

Technology, instead of making life more complicated as many people think, is a crucial factor forming the evolution of humanity. In terms of employment, the invention of computers, the Internet and various electronic devices has significantly improved our working productivity. At home, machines have freed people from time-consuming and mundane chores. In agricultural fields, technology not only helps farmers save their labour but also increase their crop yields. It can be said that the existence of technology our lives is so pervasive that people have taken it for granted. While it is true that a number of equipment or gadgets are excessively sophisticated to manipulate and require high skills to use, they are not the main reason making our live more complex.

In my opinion, overpopulation constitutes the major source of the extra complication of our life. The increasing strains put on both natural environment and human societies has become intolerable. In many parts of the world, the scarcity of healthy food, accommodation and job opportunities is caused by the overcrowded population, not technology. While people in those countries are scrambling for basic supplies and suffering from various illnesses, technology might play a superficial part in their lives. Besides, psychological factors also trouble some people, for they are obsessed by items or things that they do not really need or afford. Therefore, our lives would be simpler if we solve these problems, not by reducing the use of technology.

In conclusion, I am opposed to the idea that using less technology will make our lives simpler because the difficulties of life are caused by different reasons.