Some people think teenagers should concentrate on all subjects at school. Others believe that teenagers should focus on the subjects they are best at or more interested in. To what extent do you agree?

Schooling systems across the globe emphasis on subject learning as part of the curriculum, some people think that a teen should be allowed to choose between all subject learning or only in interested subjects. In Asian school the focus of learning favors on all subject learning, in countries such as India or Sri Lanka. In my opinion, I completely agree that the youngsters (aged 13-19) should learn all subjects. The following paragraphs will elaborate the merits of my position.

Firstly, educational requirement in high schools should cater all subject as it is very critical to overall knowledge gain. Consequently, subjects such as Science, Mathematics, Art, Sports and languages are equally important as base learning for university education. For example, languages learnt in school is a basis for effective communication, a prerequisite for students perusing university education in any varied field (art, life sciences, engineering etc). Hence, all subject learning can prove to be beneficial.

Rounded personality development is a direct result of an individual’s effort in gaining content knowledge in subjects at school levels. Furthermore, when teenagers grow up as responsible citizens, overall capacities enhance their chances for life success. For instance, if a high school student poured all efforts to learning sports only, and didn’t aim at studying maths or language, the success of the individual can be limited to just playing and can’t become an effective sports coach. Thus, knowledge at least to basic high school levels in all subjects is important.

Subject learning for teenagers at school is important and learning all can be advantageous. I think, that the Asian schooling system that focuses on all subject learning has yielded successful students at university and rounded personalities with life success. Today, the academic achievements don’t guarantee great life, but a well-rounded individual has greater chances and hence school across the world should consider basic imparting of knowledge in all subjects.