Some people think that teenagers who commit crimes should be treated the same way as adult criminals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although in the past, crime among young adults was not frequent, nowadays is becoming a common trend. While some consider that they should be arrested like adults are, others think a different approach should be considered. Both parties could have their reasons but I firmly believe that a psychologically developing minor, should have a better chance at reintegration in society.

As a starting point of discussion, let us examine the stage of life in which a teenager is in. With this idea in mind, it is important to focus in its mental development as well as in the social one. For instance, analysing each individual, psychologists can differentiate what is an adequate behaviour for an adolescent and a pathological one. This can be performed if a special follow up is made, but almost impossible if the young man is arrested. In addition to this point, is also important to understand the social background, as for example, if there is violence at home that could trigger this behaviour. These arguments are convincing, to analyse each case out of prison environment, but there is also one more persuasive point to consider.

Now we shall reflect what is the role a society can have in reintegration of these minors. To clarify this, let us focus on some studies made and which activities can be performed. As an illustration, there are several scientific studies, from the New England Journal of Medicine, that reached the conclusion that a child can only modify pathologic or criminal behaviour, if the surrounding atmosphere is calm and relaxing, which do not happen in prisons. Finally, and more importantly, there is an option of a voluntary job in the community, that can help these individuals to learn the values of living in society. These supporting facts show us why we should care for a better option for this teenagers.

In summary, considering the social background and mental development of a young adult, as well as for matters of reintegration in society, there are clearly better solutions beside prison for them.