Some people think traveling abroad is necessary while others think that is not necessary because TV and the internet can give the same information. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As we enter a new era of digits and big data, the way how we connect to the world has been changed dramatically. Those who expect to help themselves unwind and unplug from hustle and bustle in life or simply want to experience what life is like outside their home would choose the conventional way by locating themselves in another country. However, this process is perceived as redundant by some preferring to stay indoors, for technology has proved to be as informative.

Developing cultural awareness is one of the most rewarding part in taking a trip in other countries. This accumulative understanding of other cultures is a need of time and first-hand experience when people interact in person with foreigners who speak a different language and follow a different social ritual. Talking face to face with the local in host countries increases the odds of a traveller mastering a second language. After all, the easiest or maybe the most efficient way for a person from non-English speaking countries to speak it is to communicate with the English native speakers on a daily basis. Such cross-cultural exposure is also a useful source of information allowing overseas tourists to learn about exotic features through localized products. While it is true that people could buy nearly any type of foreign goods without stepping outside their home, the authentic creation and crafts of arts are rarely found in Amazon but to be sold from the local vendors in their destination.

Accessing information about facts, traditions and others in foreign countries by shifting scenery, however, is not reliant on a flying ticket any more. The internet is bridging the distance for all of us so that a good view of how people lead their life in the pristine villages or mountainous areas is easily available when people turn on the TV subscribing a travel programme or watch documentaries like BBC or Discovery. Learning a second language does not necessarily need people to set themselves in a different geographical location, either; instead, various language learning courses, movies and electronic literature can be found online and many of them are even free of charge. In such case, there is no need for language learners to pay for high fares in order to have a command of a foreign language.

In conclusion, the travel industry seemingly has been startled by technology, but the worries that virtual reality will replace holidays when travelers build up personal connections to the world are overstated. When people expect to experience the thrill during exploration to new environment or be exposed to distinct cultures, that being said, internet is something more like a means to get ourselves prepared for a real tour.