Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

In today’s world university education is a prerequisite for high paid skillful jobs. While some people believe that purpose of universities is to teach certain skills that are vital for a particular job, others support the idea to use universities as a platform to gain knowledge for one’s own sake. In my opinion main function of university education is to polish an individual’s knowledge with the futuristic resources and then use it to attain certain levels of skills required for jobs.

Firstly, university is a place to get higher education based on one’s existing knowledge. Provided with higher resources and chances of research work, it helps a person to attain certain levels of education that are helpful in future. For example, medical universities provide excellent research opportunities and expect students to make use of existing knowledge to design better techniques for the future. These techniques will in turn be used by a professional in his work place.

Secondly, the university education is a series of complex programmes developed to achieve certain levels of skills required for jobs. It is highly unlikely to have a university student just for sake of his own knowledge who does not have any previous experience. For instance an engineering student cannot have his higher education in arts just because of his own liking. This will create an imbalance and will result in waste of precious resource which otherwise can be used for better purposes.

In conclusion, main purpose if university education is to provide bright students with excellence in their basic subjects, certain opportunities to polish the skills for a better job experience. I agree to the mentioned purpose.

In future, governments should work on providing more universities to provide better chances to deserving students and help to make world a better place.