Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Some people assume that higher institutions should make provision for school leavers to acquire the awareness and skills required in various occupational areas while others are of the opinion that the significant function of a tertiary institutions is for acquisition of knowledge only irrespective of it usefulness to the recruiting agent. I believe that higher institutions should provide the necessary skills need to graduates because it reduces the rate of unemployment and increases the standard of living

Firstly, skill acquisition in the higher institutions reduces the rate of unemployment among graduating students. It is an indisputable fact that the rate of unemployment in some developing countries is appalling. This is because higher institutions in such nation failed to instill the required skills needed at the labour market however, in developed nations, graduates are braced with the technical know-how at the higher institutions as a result they go into the labour market and are hired immediately without delay. To illustrate, the Japanese government passed a law in year 2000 that it is mandatory for their university students to acquire specialised skill such in manufacturing automobiles and electronics. interestingly, all young school leavers are usually absorbed in such companies. this instance apposite the above view.

Additionally, skill acquisition in the higher institutions improves the economy of the country. The reason for this is that when students graduates they get employed in various aspect of the economy thus, utilising they acquired effectively in such areas. For example, in a survey conducted the University of California New York city, it was suggested that for any economy to grow globally, great economist in such countries would need to acquire useful skills from higher institutions. Thus, supporting the above opinion.

To conclude, although they are differing opinions regarding knowledge and skill acquisition in the higher institutions, however, I believe that, graduates should learn the knowledge and skills required in the work environment from the university because, it's helps to reduce unemployment and also help in economic growth.