Some people think 'vertical city' is the best, where people live and work in tall buildings, others think 'horizontal city' is better, where there are fewer tall buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

For individual, settle down in one’s favorite city is the best. However, the construction style of different cities satisfy different tastes of people. And it has led to an endless debate as to whether or not living in a city with tall buildings or staying in the counterpart with small houses. I believe that compared to living in small buildings, to live and work in large skyscrapers enjoys more.

On the one hand, living in vertical city is benefit for people’s health, which means residents or workers could, to some extent, stay away from city noise or air contamination since they are living in a high building. The car horns and pedestrian noise cannot reach high-rise buildings, therefore people can enjoy in tranquility and have better life quality. Another merit is that, people might have a merry mood since the employees can feast their eyes on the city view from those tall building when they need to have a relaxation. To the final point, since the city development issue has been more and more concerned, building more skyscrapers can reduce the pressure of housing shortage and also meeting the requirement of population explosion. Since human also need enough soil to farm, and in this aspect, those small buildings always occupy the precious and limited land resources.

On the other hand, some people might argue that horizontal city is better. Since tall buildings is not suitable for all cities, especially for those underdeveloped towns. And build high buildings may leave pressure to financial budget of the local government. But I still have to concede that living in houses has less merits than living in tall buildings.

To summarize, I believe that developing vertical city is a better choice for city development in the long term.