Some people think women should be allowed to join the army, the navy and the air force = military) just like men. Do you agree or disagree?

In today's life, females play a crucial role in society development as well as men. Some people argue that the weaker sex has the right to contribute to protect the country like participating in the military force. Personally, I totally agree with this idea for some reasons.

On the one hand, many people think that there are several drawbacks when women become a soldier. First, the military environment always contains arduous work that the soldier needs the strong physical and mental health to work and devote for the independence of our country. Females are known as the gentle sex so it is thought that it is difficult for them to work in the army like fighting with the enemy in the war. Second, women have a tendency to give birth to children and take care of their family after they get married. That is the reason why the military workforce is understaffed and as a result may not guarantee a workforce in emergencies such as war.

On the other hand, in this modern world, the government and many organizations have more policies to encourage women to study and work to promote gender equality and enhance the role of women. Therefore, women affirm their ability and achieve success in many fields, including work in the armed forces. For example, Nguyen Thi Dinh was the first female general of the Vietnamese People's Army during the Vietnam War and the first female Vice President of Vietnam. With her success, this asserts that the weaker sex can complete the job efficiently like the stronger sex. Second, women taking part in the armed forces may help to balance the workforce in this field. It is true that women may have the ability to communicate and diplomacy so in some cases that need wise diplomacy talent, women may work better than men. For instance, Madame Binh who is a Vietnamese revolutionary leader and with her diplomacy talent, helped Vietnam to sign in Paris Peace Conference to achieve independence of Vietnam in 1973.

In conclusion, everyone has the right to devote themselves to the preservation and protection of national peace regardless of gender, job or age. In my opinion, the government and other organizations should take more actions to foster and boost women to join the military workforce, heighten women's role, contribute to decrease gender inequity and some other problems in society.