What are the advantages and disadvantages of living in a number of different places during your childhood years?

It is believed that relocation in childhood time would have both merits and demerits. In this essay, I will discuss both of these notions.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why living in different places in childhood years has a positive impact on children’s development. Firstly, moving to new locations challenges children’s adaptability ability which would become a profound background for them in the future. This challenge may bring more difficulties for them in the integration process but from these experiences, children can learn how to overcome obstacles, find solutions to problems and importantly, they become more open to experiences. Secondly, a frequent relocation opens up more valuable opportunities in advancing children’s language skills. By accessing many different languages, it stimulates their languages and encourages them to become a bilingual or multilingual person that may become one of the competitive advantages for them in studying and advancing in their career path in the future.

On the other hand, immigrating living areas frequently could disturb children’s development for some reasons. First and foremost, changing residences can have a negative effect on children’s emotions. By living in a strange environment, children easily feel lonely, especially in making friends or opening their relationships. Secondly, educational interruptions are one of the biggest concerns in children’s accessing knowledge. This is because changing school or educational systems could lead to gaps in learning which make students facing difficulties in catching up the new curriculum. As a result, their studying performance could be affected dramatically that can bring them more distress. For example, students in Vietnam who migrate with families to settle down in America often study their study grade again to keep up with America's educational knowledge.

In conclusion, although there are a plethora of benefits of shifting places during childhood as it opens up children' minds or their language skills, this tendency also has more disadvantages in children’s advancement.