In an extremely competitive world, occupational achievement is considered to be the most pivotal and brings meaning to people’s lives. However, in my opinion, I partially agree with this statement for several reasons.

On the one hand, I believe that careers play a prominent role in one’s life. Normally, people ease to work from their 20s to early 60s, which accounts for a third of their lifetime. Therefore, a worthwhile job that blooms would boost worker self-achievement and fill their human well-being. By contrast, an unstable, turbulent career or experience of job dissatisfaction could have detrimental destructive influences on employee mental and physical health by having chronic stress, cardiovascular diseases, and so on…In addition, those with an unsuccessful career often have negative thinkings about life and self-harm actions. For example, in Japan, the number of suicide due to workplace stress is escalating annually.

On the other hand, I also think that there are more desirable goals in life than a career. A major of people who devoted their lives to improving the environment, supporting those in need, or saving abandoned animals without receiving any payments or promotions, yet still, contend with their life. Furthermore, there are thousands of people who do not enter the workforce but remain satisfied with their life. For instance, in a myriad of Eastern countries, instead of working, numerous women spend most of their lives staying at home and taking care of children and are still happy with what they have.

In conclusion, the importance of an outstanding career is inevitable, however, it is not the only way prompt to life fulfillment because there is a deluge of ways to allow people to achieve a happy life.