Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Young people are intergral part to any society. Some people suggest that the young should take part in volunteer work to help disadvantaged individuals. I believe the benefits from the suggestion would overshadow its drawbacks.

Some may argue that there are other priorities should be considered before joining in volunteer work. First, the young people are not familiar to helping others, thereby they are likely to cause problems rather than provide any assistance. As many immature individuals are yet depending on their families, aiding others while they can not take care of themsleves seems impratical. Likewise, there are other works that youngsters can support with families instead of being volunteers. Doing house chores, looking after younger brothers and sisters and so forth are meaningful things that young people can give their hand to. More importantly, children nowadays facing more pressing school schedule than ever. They have to learn a wide ranges of subjects with heavy load of curriculum content and attending volunteer may disable them to focus on the number one priority. Thus, community work may place young persons at risk of losing study time and their contribution may be unnecessary.

However, young population constitutes a major group of people in any regions or nations, their support not only benefits the community where they live but their emotional and professional development. Even though young volunteers are initially inexprienced and nervous, they will accummulate valuable experience while working voluntarily. As a result, their role will become more significant among other people. Additionally, their working time in voluntary groups encourages them to be self-sufficient and disciplined. The two factors are widely accepted as important when the young enter labor market or move out of their family. Of equal importance is that by witnessing the lives of the inprivileged, disable, and old, who have to struggle with their daily lives, young minds would acknowledge the values of aid, be grateful of their normal life which gives them a sense of happiness. That is why with time and energy dedicating for helping others, young members of community would be more well-rounded and honorable citizens of their living places.

In sum, it is beneficial for their neighborhood and themselves if young people spend time working for the sake of others. I believe this trend has more merits than disadvantages.