Some people think that young people should choose their professions themselves. Others believe that their parents should choose for them.

Discuss both these views and give your own option.

Today, there is more freedom and options when choosing a job in most countries compared to the past. Some believe that people should choose their professions on their own whereas others believe that their parents should decide it.

I really think children’s wills must be respected first of all even if the decision is against that of their parents.

In some societies, parents choose a job for their child or pass down their job to their child as a social custom. It allows children to easily trust and rely on their new workplace and perhaps co-workers, too, for parents’ insurance. Working for the place their parents choose means, in most cases, working in or near their local community. This kind of social custom keeps the population of community from flowing out.

However, parents’ choice of professions for their child is only acceptable when their offspring agree with it. If they are forced to follow parents despite their favor, parents just ignore their right to choose their occupation. The situation surrounding jobs is always changing; some jobs disappear while new ones appear. Some become unstable whereas others get more popularity. The gap between parents’ working period and their offspring’s are getting bigger in the current globalism. Therefore, the youth had better consider what profession to choose by themselves before following their parents.

Even though taking over parents’ professions or working for the place parents choose have been seen as a custom in some societies for a long time, it sometimes ignore children’s favor. In this period of change, when the accelerating globalism and technology development are seen, it is necessary for young people to decide their job by themselves with foresight and willingness. We have to respect them at first.