Some people think young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others think that they should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether the youth population of a society should follow traditional customs is a contentious issue. Personally, I still firmly believe that cultural norms should be upheld even while I accept that young people should legitimately have a certain amount of autonomy.

The youth should uphold society customs for a number of important reasons. Traditions initially play the part of preserving a society's identity. Traditions are by definition all the customary ways of doing things and beliefs that have been accumulated over time by previous generations; as a result, they represent the ingrained standards and values of the community. Therefore, it is crucial for young people to uphold these traditions in order to foster social cohesiveness and unity as well as to maintain a sense of continuity with the past. The youth can also gain a lot from the knowledge and insight of earlier generations by adhering to traditions. As a result, individuals can spare themselves the time and effort-consuming trial and error in life.

However, it is still necessary to accept that young people have certain rights to act in a free manner. The fundamental reason is that some traditions may be largely irrelevant or even repressive in light of the current situation, making their observance pointless. For instance, due to women's increasing knowledge and aspirations for individual independence and respect, Vietnam's historical culture of misogyny and gender imbalance has now almost completely disappeared. Furthermore, it is only natural for young people to aspire to individualize in the current age of globalization. Adopting radical ideals and creative habits from other cultures does, undoubtedly, contribute to a unique, less restrained life. However, attention must still be exercised to avoid adopting improper traditions and behaviors, such as cohabitation or promiscuity.

Young people should maintain their individualism, but only to the extent that it is consistent with their traditions.