Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However,other people think that zoos are useful to protect the rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Talking about the function of zoos is always debatable. It is often argued that zoos are better to be closed since their performances are abusive. However, several people agree that zoos should remain in existence due to their crucial responsibilities to protect endangered animals. I partially agree up to a point that zoo presence is essential not only to protect but also to preserve animals which I will elaborate below.

To begin with, there are several issues related to zoos where animals get rough treatment both mentally and physically by the zookeeper. This is because the zoo's employee tend to ignore the animals necessity such as their accommodation and meal. For instance, Elephants at Ragunan Zoo seem to suffer mentally in captivity ironically since the lack of both spaces and food supplies. On top of that, several cases rampantly appear in terms of animal amusement which related to the physical abuse that is done by the zookeepers. As a result, their condition are getting worse because animal is pushed to entertain the visitors so they are endured brutally. Therefore, it is better to close zoos because zoos are seen to be cruel places that can lead animals to be aggressive and unpredictable.

Shifting towards the second view, the existence of zoos is still essential to create a new environment to prevent animal extinction. This is regarding the fact that an abundance of endangered species lose their habitat. For instance, forest fires cause the loss of Orangutan habitat in Borneo Island which means that they will be homeless. Moreover, zoos are created to protect the species from the illegal hunter, especially for those rare animals. Therefore, the zoos carry serious responsibilities for the forthcoming animal offspring not only continuously maintaining but also preserving.

To conclude, the urgency of zoos function is still needed due to animal preservation and it is better to maintain the existence of zoos. This is as long as the people are taking care of species necessity seriously for the forthcoming era.